Funding Options, which now trades as Funding Options by Tide, does not lend money to anybody. It is a credit broker: you describe what your business needs, it puts your details in front of lenders on its panel, and it is paid a commission by whichever lender you eventually borrow from. That model is legitimate and it is common. It also places a layer between you and the price you end up paying, which is why this review spends less time on the marketing and more on what Funding Options’ own terms and product pages say, including the several places where they say two different things.
Funding Options at a Glance
Our Verdict
If your business has already decided it wants debt finance and you do not know which lender to approach, Funding Options is a reasonable first stop. One enquiry reaches a large panel, the initial quote does not touch your credit score, and the customer feedback on the human side of the service is genuinely strong: 4.8 out of 5 from 1,465 Trustpilot reviews when we checked on 7 September 2026, with the named Business Finance Specialists praised over and over.
Two things stop us recommending it without qualification. The first is scope: Funding Options brokers debt and asset-backed finance only, so equity, angel investment and innovation grants fall outside it, and Swoop covers that ground where Funding Options cannot. The second is money. Funding Options’ own terms state that lenders pay it commission at different rates and that, for certain lenders, it has some influence over the interest rate, and that this can affect what you pay. That is the company’s own disclosure, not our inference, and it is the reason we tell you further down to price at least one offer against the same lender direct.
Best For
- Trading businesses that want one comparison across a wide panel instead of several separate applications
- Owners who need invoice finance, asset finance or a revolving facility rather than a plain term loan
- Directors who want a human adviser attached to a larger or more awkward application
- Businesses their own bank has already turned down, where the question is whether anybody will lend at all
- Tide business banking customers, who reach the same marketplace from inside an account they already use
Not Ideal For
- Businesses looking for equity, angel investment or innovation grants, none of which Funding Options brokers
- Owners who already know which lender they want and would rather deal with it directly
- Complex property development finance, where a specialist commercial broker will usually add more
- Anyone who will not check the offer they are given against the same lender’s direct pricing
- Directors who would rather not have their personal details passed to a panel of separate data controllers
Key Facts We Verified
- Legal entity: Funding Options Limited, company number 07739337, incorporated 12 August 2011 and active, registered at 4th Floor, The Featherstone Building, 66 City Road, London EC1Y 2AL (Companies House, checked 7 September 2026)
- FCA status: Authorised since 30 June 2016 under FRN 727867, with permission for credit broking, not lending. Separately a Registered Account Information Service Provider under FRN 791902 since 23 February 2018, which is what allows the Open Banking step
- Ownership: Tide announced the acquisition on 29 November 2022 and the FCA approved the change of control in February 2023. “Funding Options by Tide” was added to the FCA register as a trading name on 16 April 2026
- Lender panel: Funding Options publishes both 80+ and over 120 and does not reconcile the two. Both were still live on 7 September 2026
- Published pricing: rates from 8.2% APR, and a representative example of 9.7% APR on £50,000 over 24 months (fundingoptions.com/business-loans, checked 7 September 2026)
- Cost to the applicant: free to use. Funding Options is paid commission by the lender, its terms say “typically as a fixed percentage of the amount you borrow”
- Commission and your rate: its terms say lenders “could pay commission at different rates” and that for certain lenders it has “some influence over the interest rate” (checked 7 September 2026)
- Trustpilot: 4.8 out of 5 from 1,465 reviews, 91% five-star and 3% one-star (checked 7 September 2026)
What Is Funding Options?
Who You’re Actually Borrowing From
Not Funding Options. The money comes from whichever lender on its panel agrees to fund you, the credit agreement carries that lender’s name, and the debt is owed to that lender. Funding Options puts no capital at risk and holds none of yours: its FCA permission is credit broking, and a credit broker cannot hold or control client money. Its own terms say it in five words: “We are a credit broker, not a lender.”
That matters on the day something goes wrong. If the repayment schedule is unaffordable, or a fee appears that nobody mentioned, or you want to settle early, the company that can do anything about it is the lender, not the marketplace that introduced you. Funding Options’ job finishes when the introduction turns into finance, which is also the moment it gets paid.
A second confusion is worth clearing now, because the brand sits over two different things. Alongside the marketplace, Tide lends in its own right. Its Instant Loan and Credit Flex both come from Tide Capital III Limited rather than from any panel lender, both are fixed-term borrowing rather than a revolving facility, and both require a director’s personal guarantee, which puts your own money behind the debt in a way a marketplace introduction does not. Tide also runs a referral route to the government Start Up Loan, where the application goes to the Start Up Loans Company and so does the money.
So three different companies can reach you through one logo, and a quote from one tells you nothing about the other two. Our Tide business loans review covers what each of Tide’s own products costs, what you have to guarantee, and which company is actually doing the lending. We checked all three routes against Tide’s own terms and help-centre pages on 24 August 2026.
How Funding Options Works
You submit one set of information, and the platform matches it against the criteria each lender on the panel has agreed to share. Straightforward products, such as unsecured loans, revolving credit and invoice finance, are handled largely automatically. Anything larger or more awkward, and a Business Finance Specialist picks up the phone before lenders are approached. The advantage over doing it yourself is real: a director who approaches banks one at a time collects a hard search with every application, and a cluster of hard searches in a short period reads badly to whoever looks next.
Be precise in your own head about what the match is. Clearing the platform’s filters means a lender is willing to look at you. It does not mean that lender has approved anything. Underwriting happens afterwards, at the lender, against criteria that are stricter than the ones used to decide whether to show you the offer in the first place.
The panel headline matters far less than it appears to, for the same reason. No applicant is shown 80 lenders, let alone 120. You are shown the handful whose criteria your business clears, which for most SMEs is a single-figure number and for a business with a patchy record may be one or two. Panel size measures how wide the net can be cast, not how many offers land in front of you, so the useful question is narrower: does the panel include lenders that will actually consider a business like yours?
You cannot answer that in full, because Funding Options does not publish the list. It names Funding Circle, Nucleus Commercial Finance and YouLend among its partners, and the British Business Bank appears on the same page in connection with government-backed lending. Beyond those, do not assume that every lender associated with the wider network is reachable through your own application.
What Funding Options Controls and What the Lender Controls
Funding Options decides who sees your application and how it is presented. It decides nothing about the money. Marketplace copy tends to blur the two, and the blur is where readers get caught out, because a platform that says “we get you the best rate” sounds like a platform that sets one.
| Funding Options decides | Only the lender decides |
|---|---|
| Which lenders on the panel see your application | Whether to lend to you at all |
| How your business is presented to them | The interest rate, the fees and the APR you are offered |
| Whether a Business Finance Specialist works the case by hand | The amount, the term and the repayment schedule |
| Which offers are shown back to you | Any security or personal guarantee required |
| Which panel lenders receive your data | The underwriting checks and the credit searches run |
One line in that table is not as clean as it looks. Funding Options’ terms say that for certain lenders it has “some influence over the interest rate”, so on an unspecified part of the panel the pricing column is not entirely the lender’s own. The section on how the company makes its money sets out what its terms actually say about that.
The other thing Funding Options controls is your data, and this is the part its borrower-facing pages leave thinnest. Its privacy policy states plainly: “As part of providing our Service to you, we share data provided by you with our panel of approved Lenders”, and that those lenders “are independent data controllers who will be processing your personal data separately”. The information covers directors, beneficial owners and anyone giving a personal guarantee, and the policy says lending partners may share it further with fraud prevention agencies.
The Open Banking mechanics themselves are documented and reassuring as far as they go. Funding Options’ Open Banking page says it only asks for “read-only” access, so it “can’t move money or make payments”, that it never sees your username or password, and that you can withdraw consent at any time. What that page does not do is name which lenders on the panel receive the feed. So if you would rather not have your bank data read by firms you cannot see in advance, raise it before you connect the account, not after.
Main Funding Options Available
Funding Options brokers debt and asset-backed finance, and only that. The published sizes below are its own figures, taken from its product pages on 7 September 2026, and the price of any of them comes from the lender you end up with rather than from the platform.
- Term loans and revolving credit. Unsecured lending from £1,000 to £500,000 and secured facilities up to £20 million, over terms it describes as running from one month to 30 years, though the ordinary range for a business loan is three months to five years. A revolving facility works like an overdraft: you draw and repay against an agreed limit and pay interest only on what you use. If your cash flow swings with the seasons, that flexibility is usually worth more than a slightly lower headline rate, because a term loan demands the same repayment in the quiet months as in the busy ones.
- Invoice finance. One of the stronger parts of the offer, and the choice within it comes down to whether you mind your customers knowing. Factoring releases a share of an unpaid invoice straight away and hands collection to the provider, so your customers deal with them. Discounting advances the same money and leaves credit control with you.
- Asset finance. Spreads the cost of machinery, vehicles or equipment over a fixed term instead of draining working capital in one go, as hire purchase where you own the asset at the end, or as a lease where you hand it back.
- Merchant cash advances. A different animal: you repay a percentage of daily card takings rather than a fixed monthly sum, which flexes with a bad month but usually costs more overall. They suit hospitality and retail with heavy card volumes, and B2B businesses hardly at all. If you are weighing one, read our guide to factor rates and how they compare with APR first, because the two are not comparable on their face.
- Property finance. Commercial mortgages, bridging and development finance are all on the panel, and all of them are slower and heavier on documentation than unsecured lending. On a commercial mortgage specifically, a specialist broker who negotiates terms directly will often earn their fee, and we would not treat a marketplace match as the end of the search.
- Government-backed lending. Routed through the Growth Guarantee Scheme, which remains open and can support facilities of up to £2 million. Two points are routinely misunderstood. The 70% guarantee protects the lender, not you, and the British Business Bank states plainly that the borrower always remains 100% liable for the debt. Accreditation also changes nothing about the decision: lenders apply their own credit and fraud checks, and a scheme-backed application can be declined like any other.
One gap is worth naming, because it sends a whole class of business to the wrong place. Funding Options does not broker equity. If venture capital, angel investment or an innovation grant would suit your position better than borrowing, the platform cannot help, and the comparison section below covers who can.
Funding Options Rates, Fees and How It Gets Paid
How Funding Options Prices What You’re Offered
It does not price anything, and no page on its site claims otherwise. There is no Funding Options rate, no Funding Options fee scale and no single APR that describes the marketplace, because pricing is set lender by lender once you have been matched. That is not evasion on the company’s part: it is what a panel broker is. But it does mean the numbers on the front of the site are advertising for the market rather than a quote for you, and they need reading as such.
The three figures it publishes are not the same kind of number as each other:
- From 8.2% APR. The best price the best-qualified applicants get. A “from” rate has to be available to somebody and to nobody else in particular.
- 9.7% APR representative on a £50,000 loan over 24 months, giving monthly repayments of £2,291.56 and £54,997.44 payable in total. A representative APR only has to be available to a proportion of borrowers, not to you.
- 10.0% APR on the same £50,000 over 24 months, giving £2,307.25 a month and £55,373.91 in total. This one is the homepage calculator illustration rather than the representative example, and the two sit on the same website at the same time.
All three were live on 7 September 2026. Funding Options also flags that “some lenders may apply fees during the application process”, which is a reminder that the APR is not always the whole cost of the deal.
What Affects Your Rate
Everything that decides the rate sits with the lender, and it is the ordinary underwriting picture: how long you have been trading, your turnover and whether it is growing, whether you are profitable, your personal and business credit history, and what security or personal guarantee you can put behind the borrowing. Add to that the size and term of the facility, because small short facilities almost always price worse per pound than large long ones.
The product matters as much as the business does. A secured facility against property prices differently from an unsecured term loan, which prices differently again from invoice finance, where the charge splits into a service fee and a discount charge. A merchant cash advance is not priced in APR at all: it is quoted as a factor rate, and a factor of 1.25 on £20,000 means £25,000 repaid however long it takes. Comparing that against an APR without converting it is how businesses talk themselves into the most expensive money on the panel.
The one variable that is not about your business is which lender you land with. Two lenders looking at identical accounts can price several percentage points apart, because they are pricing different risk appetites. That is the case for using a marketplace, and it is also the reason the commission question below is worth reading carefully.
How Funding Options Makes Money
Not from you. Its terms are unambiguous that “the Service is free of charge to you”, and there is no application fee, no membership charge and nothing payable for receiving matched offers. It is paid by the lenders, and the relevant paragraph of the terms is worth reading in full rather than in summary:
“While the Service is free of charge to you, we will receive commission from Finance Providers for introductions we make to them, typically as a fixed percentage of the amount you borrow. The Finance Providers we work with could pay commission at different rates, and for certain lenders we have some influence over the interest rate, and this can impact the amount that you pay under any agreement you may choose to enter into.”
Two things follow from that, and Funding Options says both of them itself. The panel is not economically flat, because different lenders are worth different amounts to the broker. And the mechanism by which that could reach your interest rate is admitted rather than denied, for a subset of lenders the company does not name.
What the terms do not say is that any particular offer has been marked up, and we are not claiming that. There is no evidence in front of us that a given quote is worse than the same lender would give you directly, and it would be dishonest to imply otherwise. An earlier version of this review told readers that commission comes out of the lender’s margin and is not added to the borrower’s rate. Funding Options’ own terms do not support that, and we removed it.
You do have one lever, and it is written into the same paragraph. Before you enter a regulated credit agreement you may ask what commission Funding Options will receive, or the likely amount where the exact figure is not yet known. Most business lending sits outside consumer credit regulation, so that right may not formally apply to your agreement. Ask anyway, and treat the answer, or the refusal, as information about who you are dealing with.
The other lever costs an hour. On the one offer you are seriously considering, get a quote from the same lender directly and compare the whole agreement rather than the headline, because a lower rate attached to a bigger arrangement fee is not a better deal. Do not assume direct is cheaper either: brokers negotiate volume terms individual applicants cannot, and going around them sometimes costs more. Work through:
- APR, and the nominal interest rate where the two differ
- Arrangement, facility and drawdown fees, and any broker fee charged separately
- Total amount repayable, the one number that settles most comparisons
- Term and repayment frequency, including whether repayments are monthly, weekly or a share of card takings
- Early-settlement terms, and whether interest is rebated if you clear the balance early
- Security and personal guarantees, which is where your house can end up attached to the deal
- Whether the lender will deal with you directly at all, since some lend only through intermediaries
Compare Your Offer Across the Panel
Does Checking Affect Your Credit Score?
Getting a quote does not. Funding Options states it in two places on its own site: the quote form carries the line “This quote won’t affect your credit score”, and the homepage says “Applying won’t affect your credit score”. Both were live on 7 September 2026, and that is the outcome you can rely on at the enquiry stage.
We have deliberately stopped short of the claim this review used to make, which was that Funding Options runs a soft search across the panel during matching. Its public documentation does not set out which organisation performs which search at which point, and turning an inconsistent set of provider pages into a definitive account of the credit-file mechanics is not something we can evidence. What is documented is the consumer outcome, and at the quote stage the consumer outcome is what you need.
Once you decide to proceed, you are dealing with the lender rather than the marketplace, and lenders run their own searches as part of underwriting. Funding Options says as much on its own bad-credit page: “Applications usually involve a credit check. Too many applications in a short period can lower your score.” Expect a hard search at that point, recorded on your file and visible to anyone who looks afterwards.
The practical gain is one deliberate hard search instead of several scattered ones, which is a genuine benefit and arrives at the end of the process rather than the start. So do not read “no impact on your credit score” as covering the whole journey. It covers the part before you commit.
Funding Options Eligibility
Who Can Apply
Almost any UK business can make an enquiry. Funding Options itself sets no minimum turnover and no minimum trading history for that first step, because the filters live with the lenders rather than with the platform, which is why it will take details from a two-month-old sole trader and then show a much shorter list than the panel size implies.
Keep those two stages separate in your head, because the marketing does not. Being able to apply through the marketplace and being approved by a lender are different events, and only the second one produces money. A shortlist of three offers is a statement about who is willing to read your file, not about who has agreed to fund you.
Trading History, Turnover and Credit Checks
What the lenders look at is unremarkable and consistent across the market: that the business is UK-based and the applicant old enough to borrow, annual turnover, how long you have traded, whether you are profitable, personal and business credit history, and what security you can offer. A weak showing on any one of those narrows the list rather than closing it, because challenger and alternative lenders underwrite differently from high-street banks.
Startups can and do apply, and some lenders on the panel take on businesses with little or no trading history. What we will not tell you is where a particular startup gets routed. We used to say that businesses with no revenue get pushed towards government-backed schemes or Start Up Loans. Funding Options does not document that anywhere, so we dropped it. The honest position is that early-stage businesses see the shortest lists, and the £25,000 ceiling Funding Options quotes for government-backed startup loans tells you the scale a new business should expect rather than the six-figure facilities available to established ones.
A poor credit file is a better argument for using a marketplace than against it. A decline from your own bank tells you that one lender’s model rejected you; it says nothing about the alternative lenders whose criteria are built around different risks, and several Trustpilot reviewers describe exactly that sequence. Set your expectations on price rather than on access, though. Lenders that accept impaired credit charge for it, and the gap between a clean-credit rate and an adverse-credit one is wide enough that the total cost of borrowing, not the monthly payment, is the number to compare.
Security and Personal Guarantees
Funding Options takes no security itself, because it is not owed anything. Whether you have to put an asset or your own name behind the borrowing is decided by the lender at underwriting, and it is the single condition most worth pinning down before you sign anything.
The shape of it is predictable enough to plan around. Unsecured lending, which Funding Options quotes from £1,000 to £500,000, is unsecured against business assets and very often still comes with a director’s personal guarantee attached, which is not the same thing at all. Secured facilities, quoted up to £20 million, are backed by property or equipment and usually buy a lower rate or a larger sum for anyone who can offer the collateral. Asset finance secures itself against the item being funded. Invoice finance secures itself against the ledger, and normally carries recourse, meaning the advance can be reversed if your customer does not pay.
Funding Options does not publish which panel lenders require a guarantee and which do not, so you will not know until an offer is in front of you. One detail in its own paperwork is a useful signal that guarantees are routine on this panel rather than exceptional: its privacy policy describes collecting information about “all directors, beneficial owners and persons providing a personal guarantee”. Read the guarantee clause before the rate clause. A personal guarantee turns a business debt into a claim on your own money if the company cannot pay, and no headline APR compensates for signing one you had not understood.
Funding Options Application Process
How to Apply
You start online, or from inside the Tide app, with the basics: legal structure, trading history, monthly revenue, how much you want and what it is for. The platform then asks you to connect your business bank account through Open Banking, and runs your profile against the panel criteria. Matched offers come back on screen, and for anything larger or unusual a Business Finance Specialist calls before lenders are approached.
From there the process leaves the marketplace. You pick an offer, the lender takes over the file, and the underwriting, the documents and the money are all its side of the line. The handover is the point at which applicants most often lose track of who they are dealing with, and it is worth writing down the lender’s name and your contact there the moment it happens.
Documents and Checks Needed
For simple facilities the Open Banking feed plus your application answers is often enough to generate offers, which saves you downloading and uploading statements. That read-only connection is the reason Funding Options holds a second FCA registration, and it is genuinely the least painful part of the process.
Bigger and secured facilities need more. Expect to hand over two to three years of statutory accounts, management accounts for the current period, and whatever else the individual lender asks for. Asset finance lenders will usually want a quote or specification for the equipment as well, and property lenders will want valuations. None of this is unusual, but it is the stage where applications stall, and how quickly you answer is the single thing most under your control.
Approval and Funding Times
For unsecured lending and invoice finance, initial offers generally come back within 24 to 48 hours of a completed application. Funding Options publishes two records on its lender-partners page: a fastest completed case of 18 minutes from enquiry to funds in the account, and 20 seconds from enquiry to approval. Those are best cases and the company presents them as such.
Plan for several days to a fortnight, depending on the product, the lender’s workload and how fast documents arrive. Commercial mortgages and development finance run to weeks or months, because the surveying and legal work does not compress. The speed Funding Options genuinely delivers is at the matching stage; everything after that moves at the lender’s pace, not the platform’s.
Funding Options Customer Reviews
What the Rating Does and Does Not Tell You
Funding Options by Tide held 4.8 out of 5 across 1,465 Trustpilot reviews when we checked on 7 September 2026, rated Excellent, with 91% five-star and 3% one-star and the middle bands almost empty. That is the shape of a service people either sail through or get stuck in. Trustpilot also records that the company invites customers to review and responds to 70% of negative ones.
Be clear about what a score like that can establish. It is good evidence about how the service feels to deal with: the speed, the communication, whether anyone calls back. It is not evidence that the matching is neutral, that commission has no effect on pricing, or that any individual borrower was shown the best offer available to them. This page previously argued that a platform could not hold a 4.8 rating if commission incentives were affecting recommendations. That inference does not follow from review data, and we cut it.
What Customers Like
The recurring praise is about people rather than technology. Reviewers name their Business Finance Specialist, individually and by name, again and again, and describe questions answered within minutes and someone chasing the lender on their behalf. On a product where the alternative is four separate application forms and no one to ring, that is worth more than it sounds.
The second theme is the outcome for businesses that had already been turned down elsewhere and found a lender through the panel that their own bank’s model had ruled out. Speed comes third: offers back inside a day or two, and a process that avoids repeating the same information to four different lenders.
Common Complaints
Critical reviews are a small minority, and they cluster in three places. Some applicants are declined by the matched lenders as well and end up back where they started, having spent time and disclosed a good deal of financial information. Others describe communication going quiet at the handover from platform to lender, when responsibility moves and it is not always obvious who is now dealing with the file. A third group, usually on larger or more complex facilities, felt the intermediary added administration without adding much they could not have arranged themselves.
The first of those is not really a criticism of the platform. No marketplace can produce a lender for a business that no lender will take, and better matching will not fund a business that falls outside every set of criteria on the panel. What the platform controls is the odds and the effort; it does not control the answer. The second is a fair hit, and it is the one to guard against yourself by getting the lender’s name and a direct contact at the point the file moves.
Funding Options Support and Regulation
Who Is Actually Regulated
The regulated entity is Funding Options Limited, company number 07739337, incorporated on 12 August 2011 and active, registered at 4th Floor, The Featherstone Building, 66 City Road, London EC1Y 2AL. Its FCA firm reference number is 727867, authorised since 30 June 2016. That is the company you are dealing with, whatever the page you landed on says at the top.
The brand you searched for is not quite the same as the entity. “Funding Options by Tide” is a trading name, added to the FCA register on 16 April 2026 after Tide acquired the business: the acquisition was announced on 29 November 2022 and the FCA approved the change of control in February 2023. The consideration was not disclosed and we found no credible public figure for it, so we do not quote one. Funding Options kept its own legal entity and its own authorisations rather than being folded into Tide’s, which is why it remains separately answerable for the introduction it makes to you.
FCA Permissions and What They Cover
Being “FCA regulated” is not one thing, and on a broker the detail decides what you are actually protected against. Funding Options holds a credit broking permission under FRN 727867. That is the whole of it. It is not authorised to lend, and it cannot hold or control client money, so your funding never passes through it.
A second entry, FRN 791902, records Funding Options Limited as a Registered Account Information Service Provider since 23 February 2018. That is the Open Banking permission, and it is what lets the platform read your bank transactions once you consent. One detail is off, though it changes nothing practical: Funding Options’ own site cites this registration under the Electronic Money Regulations, while the FCA register files it under payment services. The permission is real; the reference on the company’s footer is not.
What none of that covers is the loan. A credit-broking permission regulates the introduction, not the lending, and much commercial lending to limited companies is unregulated altogether. Check the status of the lender whose name is on the agreement before you sign, because the protections attached to the introduction do not travel with the money.
Complaints and the Financial Ombudsman
Where you complain depends on what went wrong, and getting that wrong costs weeks. A complaint about the introduction itself, meaning how Funding Options handled you, what it told you or which lenders it put you in front of, goes to Funding Options. A complaint about the loan, meaning the rate, the terms, a fee or the conduct of the lender, goes to that lender’s own complaints process instead. Two different firms, two different files.
Funding Options publishes a complaints procedure with three routes: telephone on 0333 344 1015 between 08:30 and 17:30 Monday to Friday, email, or post to The Complaints Team at the Featherstone Building address above. It says it will confirm receipt within three working days and aims to respond within eight weeks.
If eight weeks pass with no answer, or the answer does not satisfy you, the Financial Ombudsman Service may take it, and the qualification is the part most reviews leave out. It considers complaints from micro-enterprises and from businesses meeting its small-business test: annual turnover under £6.5 million, together with either fewer than 50 employees or a balance sheet total under £5 million. A business above those thresholds has no right of referral, whatever the merits of its complaint, and is left with the courts. The same eligibility test applies to a complaint against the lender.
How We Verified This Review
A funding broker publishes a lot of numbers about itself, and almost none of them can be checked by anybody outside the company. So this section separates what we confirmed at a primary source from what is only Funding Options saying so, and names the figures its own website does not reconcile.
We checked Companies House, the company’s published credit-broking terms, its privacy policy, its complaints procedure, its Open Banking support page, its homepage calculator and its current product and pricing pages on 7 September 2026. Both FCA Register entries were checked on 21 August 2026, and FRN 727867 is restated in the terms we read on 7 September. Customer feedback comes from Trustpilot and is used only as evidence about customer experience, never to support claims about pricing, matching or regulation. Ombudsman eligibility comes from the Financial Ombudsman Service and the Growth Guarantee Scheme details from the British Business Bank.
| Fact | What we found | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Legal entity and incorporation | Funding Options Limited, company number 07739337, incorporated 12 August 2011, status active | Companies House |
| FCA authorisation | FRN 727867, authorised since 30 June 2016; permission is credit broking; cannot hold client money | FCA Register |
| Open Banking permission | FRN 791902, Registered Account Information Service Provider since 23 February 2018 | FCA Register |
| Trading name | “Funding Options by Tide” registered with the FCA on 16 April 2026 | FCA Register |
| Tide ownership | Acquisition announced 29 November 2022; FCA change-of-control approval February 2023; consideration not disclosed | Company announcement and contemporaneous reporting |
| Applicant fee | “the Service is free of charge to you” | Funding Options terms |
| Commission and pricing influence | Commission from finance providers “typically as a fixed percentage of the amount you borrow”; lenders “could pay commission at different rates”; “for certain lenders we have some influence over the interest rate” | Funding Options terms |
| Data sharing | Data is shared with “our panel of approved Lenders”, who are “independent data controllers”; covers directors, beneficial owners and personal guarantors | Funding Options privacy policy |
| Complaints and timescales | Three complaint routes published; receipt confirmed within three working days; response aimed at within eight weeks | Funding Options complaints procedure |
| Lender panel | 80+ on the borrower journey, “over 120” in the site navigation, on the lender-partners page and on the about-us page; unreconciled | fundingoptions.com (provider claim) |
| Published pricing | From 8.2% APR; 9.7% APR representative on £50,000 over 24 months (£54,997.44 total); 10.0% homepage calculator illustration (£55,373.91 total) | fundingoptions.com (provider claim) |
| Scale figures | Three different pairs published at once: 15,000+ businesses and £0.7bn; 17,000+ SMEs and £1bn+; 43,000+ customers and £1.6bn+ | fundingoptions.com (provider claim) |
| Customer rating | 4.8 / 5 from 1,465 reviews; 91% five-star, 3% one-star | Trustpilot |
| Ombudsman eligibility | Micro-enterprises, plus businesses under £6.5m turnover with either fewer than 50 staff or a balance sheet under £5m | Financial Ombudsman Service |
| Growth Guarantee Scheme | Open; facilities up to £2m; 70% guarantee to the lender; borrower remains 100% liable; lender decides | British Business Bank |
Two sets of numbers are Funding Options’ own and do not agree with each other, and we report the conflict rather than choosing between them. The panel count is published as 80+ on the business loans page and the homepage, and as “over 120 leading lenders” in the site navigation, on the lender-partners page and on the about-us page.
The pattern suggests the lower figure is aimed at borrowers and the higher one at lenders being recruited onto the panel, but Funding Options does not say that, and we are not going to invent an explanation on its behalf. We once told readers the two numbers meant active integrations and the full panel respectively. There was no evidence for that, and we removed it.
The scale claims are worse, because there are three of them. The business loans page carries “17,000+ SMEs and more than £1bn funded” in its introduction and “Trusted by over 43,000 customers” with “over £1.6 Billion +” further down the same page, while the about-us page says “more than 15,000 businesses” and “over £0.7B in funding for businesses in the UK and the Netherlands”. The three sets may count different populations over different periods. Funding Options does not say, so neither do we, and no version of this review should be quoting any of them as settled fact.
One limit on all of this is worth stating plainly. We did not arrange finance through the platform, so nothing here rests on our own experience of applying, and this assessment is desk-based. We do not accept payment from providers for editorial coverage, and Funding Options did not see this review before publication.
Funding Options vs Alternatives
Funding Options vs Swoop
Swoop is the closest comparison: another UK credit broker, free to the applicant, paid a commission by the finance provider when a placement completes. The difference is scope. Swoop introduces businesses to equity funds and grant bodies as well as lenders, so it covers the ground Funding Options does not reach at all.
If you have already settled on borrowing, that breadth buys you nothing and Funding Options is the more focused route. If you are still deciding between debt and equity, or there is any chance an innovation grant fits what you are doing, start with Swoop. Using both for a debt search costs nothing beyond your time, and neither initial enquiry touches your credit file.
Funding Options vs Funding Circle
Funding Circle is a lender, not a marketplace, and it is named on Funding Options’ own partners page, so the same company may appear at the end of a Funding Options search. It advertises loans of £10,000 to £750,000 over six months to six years, with rates from 6.9% a year, and lets you get a decision without affecting your credit score.
That makes it the cleanest test available of whether the marketplace is earning its commission on your deal. If a Funding Options search returns a Funding Circle offer, get a direct quote as well and put the two total repayable figures side by side. If they match, the broker has cost you nothing and saved you effort. If they do not, you have learned something worth knowing before you sign.
Funding Options vs iwoca
iwoca lends its own money too, and its Flexi-Loan runs from £1,000 to £1 million over one to five years, with interest charged only on the balance you have drawn. Its published representative APR is 49%, which is a long way from the 8.2% Funding Options advertises as its starting point. The two are not really competing for the same borrower, and the comparison is a useful reminder that a marketplace’s “from” rate and a specific lender’s representative rate describe different things.
Go direct to iwoca if you already know its flexible structure fits how your cash flow behaves and you value drawing down in stages. Go through a marketplace if you want to see what a fixed-term loan from a cheaper lender would cost before committing to that structure. iwoca is not among the partners Funding Options names publicly, so do not count on its offers appearing in a marketplace search. Some links on this page are affiliate links, and BusinessExpert may earn a commission if you apply through one, which never affects which providers we include or what we say about them.
Final Verdict: Is Funding Options Worth It?
For a UK business that wants debt finance and has not settled on a lender, yes, as the first move rather than the last one. One enquiry, no effect on your credit score at the quote stage, a wide panel and, on the evidence of 1,465 Trustpilot reviews, advisers who actually pick up the phone. For businesses turned down by their own bank, it is the most efficient way to find out whether anyone else will lend.
Go direct instead if you already know the lender you want, because a broker only adds a handover and a commission to a decision you have already made. Go direct if your own bank knows the business, since years of account history and a manager who can vouch for you will beat any algorithm’s read of your file. And go direct, or to a specialist broker, on development finance and complex commercial mortgages, where the person negotiating individual terms earns more than the platform matching criteria.
Two limits define how far to trust it everywhere else. It brokers debt only, so equity and grants need Swoop or a specialist adviser. And its own terms record that lenders pay it different rates of commission and that, for some of them, it has influence over the interest rate you are offered. That is a disclosure the company makes and we take at face value. Nothing in front of us suggests any particular quote has been inflated, but it is the reason to price one offer directly against its lender before accepting.
The last thing to keep in proportion is the marketing. Funding Options publishes two lender counts and three sets of funding statistics without reconciling any of them, and none of those numbers tells you anything about the offer you will actually receive. Judge it on the terms you are given, not on the size of the panel.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Funding Options a lender?
No. It is a credit broker and marketplace, and its own terms say so: “We are a credit broker, not a lender.” The FCA register records credit broking as its permission under FRN 727867, and a credit broker cannot hold or control client money. The finance agreement is always between your business and the lender you are matched to, and that lender sets the rate, the term and the security.
How many lenders are on the Funding Options panel?
Funding Options publishes two figures and does not reconcile them. When we checked on 7 September 2026, its business loans page and homepage said “80+ lenders” while the site navigation, its lender-partners page and its about-us page all said “over 120”. The higher number appears in material aimed at lenders joining the panel and the lower one in material aimed at borrowers, but Funding Options does not explain the difference. Either way, no applicant is shown the whole panel. You see only the lenders whose criteria your business clears, which is usually a handful.
Does Funding Options charge a fee?
Not to you. Its terms state that “the Service is free of charge to you”, and there is no application or membership charge. It is paid commission by the lender when an introduction results in finance, “typically as a fixed percentage of the amount you borrow”. Its terms add that lenders “could pay commission at different rates” and that for certain lenders Funding Options has “some influence over the interest rate”, which “can impact the amount that you pay”. The finance itself carries the lender’s own interest and fees.
Does using Funding Options affect your credit score?
Getting a quote does not. Its quote form carries the line “This quote won’t affect your credit score” and its homepage says “Applying won’t affect your credit score”, and that covers the enquiry and matching stage. If you go on to proceed with one of the lenders, that lender carries out its own credit searches as part of underwriting, so expect a hard search recorded on your file at that point. The benefit of the marketplace is one deliberate hard search instead of several from applying to lenders separately.
Can startups use Funding Options?
Yes. Funding Options sets no minimum turnover or trading history for making an enquiry; those requirements sit with the individual lenders. In practice a startup will see a much shorter list of options than an established business, and at smaller amounts: Funding Options quotes government-backed startup loans of up to £25,000. Being shown an option is not approval, because the lender still underwrites the application against its own criteria.
How long does Funding Options take to arrange finance?
Initial matched offers on standard debt products usually come back within 24 to 48 hours of a completed application with an Open Banking connection. Funding Options publishes a fastest case of 18 minutes from enquiry to funds in the account, and 20 seconds from enquiry to approval; both are records rather than typical outcomes. Most completions take several days to a couple of weeks, and commercial mortgages or development finance take weeks to months.
Who do you complain to about a Funding Options loan?
Two different firms, depending on which part went wrong. A complaint about the introduction goes to Funding Options, which publishes a phone line on 0333 344 1015, an email route and a postal address, confirms receipt within three working days and aims to respond within eight weeks. A complaint about the loan itself, meaning the rate, the terms or the lender’s conduct, goes to that lender’s own complaints process. Either can be escalated to the Financial Ombudsman Service if your business qualifies: micro-enterprises, and businesses with turnover under £6.5 million that also have fewer than 50 employees or a balance sheet total under £5 million.
Do you need a Tide business account to use Funding Options?
No. Funding Options takes enquiries from any UK business that meets a lender’s criteria, and holding a Tide account is not one of those criteria. Tide customers get a shortcut rather than an advantage: the enquiry starts inside an app they already use, with some business details carried across. The lenders you are matched with, the commission arrangements and the rate you are quoted are the same either way. Tide’s own Instant Loan and Credit Flex do require a Tide account, but those come from Tide Capital III Limited and are Tide products rather than marketplace ones.