Poor credit does not automatically stop you opening a UK business account. Some providers say they do not run a credit check to open at all; others rule out only the hard search that other lenders can see. Those are different promises, and we keep them apart.
We ranked eight accounts on the things that actually decide it here: the exact wording each provider uses about credit checks, whether a County Court Judgment (CCJ) or Individual Voluntary Arrangement (IVA) is addressed, whether the Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS) protects your balance, and the real cost once overdrafts are off the table.
One rule runs through the whole page. “No credit check” is not the same as guaranteed approval, and it is not the same as “no hard credit check”. Every provider still runs identity, fraud and anti-money-laundering checks, and any of them can decline you for reasons that have nothing to do with your credit file. Where a provider does not publish its position, we say so rather than guess.
We read each provider’s own credit-check policy in September 2026, and we label how firm the evidence is on each claim.
| Provider | Credit-check position | FSCS / safeguarding | Monthly fee | Apply |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zempler | No credit check to open (confirmed) | FSCS £120k (own licence) | Free (Go) | View Deal → |
| Tide | No hard credit check (confirmed) | FSCS £120k (via ClearBank) | Free | View Deal → |
| Revolut | Not publicly stated | FSCS £120k (new accounts) | £10 (Basic) | View Deal → |
| ANNA | Sources conflict | Safeguarded (e-money) | Free | View Deal → |
| Countingup | Not publicly stated | FSCS £120k (via Griffin) | From £5 | View Deal → |
| Monzo | Soft search (confirmed) | FSCS £120k (own licence) | Free (Lite) | View Deal → |
| Starling | Wording unclear | FSCS £120k (own licence) | Free | View Deal → |
| Mettle | Soft check (confirmed) | FSCS £120k (NatWest) | Free | View Deal → |
| Credit-check policy, fees and protection verified against provider websites, 29 September 2026. A light-touch or absent credit check is not automatic acceptance: identity, anti-money-laundering, fraud and eligibility checks apply at every provider, and none here guarantees approval. The full evidence matrix, with a confidence label on each claim, is below. | ||||
No Credit Check vs No Hard Credit Check
This is the distinction that decides which account is right for you, and it is the one most comparison pages blur. A provider that runs no credit check at all is making a stronger claim than one that runs no hard check, and neither claim means you are guaranteed an account.
| Term | What it actually means |
|---|---|
| No credit check | The provider says it runs no credit check to decide your application. Identity, business, fraud and anti-money-laundering checks still happen. |
| No hard credit check | The provider has ruled out the hard search that other lenders can see. It does not prove that no credit-related check of any kind runs. |
| Soft search | A credit-file enquiry that other lenders cannot see and that does not affect your score. |
| Hard search | A search tied to a formal credit application, visible on your file to other lenders for about 12 months. |
| Account-opening check | The checks a provider runs to decide whether to open your current account. |
| Borrowing check | A separate decision for an overdraft or loan, which may involve its own hard credit search depending on the provider, and is often unavailable on these accounts. |
| Definitions follow FCA and credit-reference-agency usage. Checked 29 September 2026. | |
The matrix below applies those terms to each provider using its own words, and marks how firm the evidence is. Where a provider does not state its position, the cell reads “not publicly stated”. We never turn that into a presumed yes or no.
| Provider | Account-opening wording | Hard search? | Soft search? | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zempler | “No credit checks to open an account” | No | No | Provider confirmed |
| Tide | “No hard credit check” | No | Not stated | Provider confirmed (no hard check) |
| Monzo | Soft search on opening, tied to lending eligibility | No | Yes | Provider confirmed |
| Mettle | “Only a soft check… no impact on your score” | No | Yes | Provider confirmed |
| Starling | Eligibility checks “include looking at credit data”; type not named for business | Not stated | Not stated | Provider wording unclear |
| ANNA | One page says no credit checks; another says a soft check may run | No | Conflicting | Provider sources conflict |
| Revolut | No statement on opening credit checks | Not stated | Not stated | Not publicly stated |
| Countingup | No account-opening credit-check statement found | Not stated | Not stated | Not publicly stated |
| Each cell taken from the provider’s own site, 29 September 2026. “Not publicly stated” means we found no first-party rule, not that a check does or does not run. | ||||
Our Top Bad Credit Business Account Picks
Zempler: Best for No Credit Check and Credit Building
Pick Zempler when your priority is opening an account without a credit check and starting to rebuild a business credit profile. Its help centre states plainly that there are no credit checks to open an account. It holds its own UK bank licence, so eligible deposits are FSCS-protected to £120,000, stronger than the e-money safeguarding most no-check accounts offer.
Its Business Creditbuilder is the one documented credit-building mechanism on this page. It is a 12-month commitment to paying the £9 Business Extra account fee on time, and Zempler reports those payments to credit reference agencies. That is £108 over the year at 0% interest, and it needs the Business Extra plan.
Read the limit clearly, though. No credit check to open does not mean guaranteed approval, and it does not mean Zempler has said it accepts CCJs or defaults, because it has not. Identity, fraud and eligibility checks still apply, and the overdraft is separately credit-assessed.
See Zempler Business GoTide: Best Free Account With No Hard Credit Check
Tide is the free co-lead: a £0 account with, in its own words, no hard credit check, and a sort code and account number ready in minutes. That is the claim it supports, so it is the only one we make for it. Tide does not publish any statement that it accepts CCJs, defaults or thin files, or that there is no minimum score.
Opening still runs identity, address, business and anti-money-laundering checks, so it is not “identity only”. The physical card arrives a couple of days after approval rather than the same day. There is no overdraft, and the free plan gives 5 transfers a month then 20p each.
Open a Tide accountMonzo: Best Soft-Check Account With FSCS
Monzo is the pick when you can accept a soft search and want a full banking licence behind your balance. Monzo confirms it runs a soft search on opening, tied to whether it can lend to you; the search is not visible to other lenders and does not affect your score. Deposits are FSCS-protected to £120,000.
Account opening and borrowing are separate decisions here. A business overdraft is credit-assessed, and the rate depends on your credit score, so treat the account and any future overdraft as two questions, not one.
View Deal →Can You Open a Business Account With a CCJ, Default or IVA
No provider on this page publishes a condition-by-condition acceptance policy, and that is more useful to know than a row of green ticks. A provider that genuinely states it runs no credit check to open, like Zempler, is not assessing the application through a conventional credit search; that still does not establish that any specific adverse-credit condition is accepted, because other eligibility and risk checks remain. A no-hard-check provider like Tide has ruled out only the hard search, not every credit-related check.
So the table below marks each condition “not publicly stated” unless a provider states otherwise, rather than inferring acceptance. The one explicit exclusion we found is Revolut, whose Business Terms rule out applicants who are insolvent or being wound up.
| Condition | Zempler (no check to open) | Tide (no hard check) | Monzo / Mettle (soft check) | Revolut |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CCJ | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
| Default | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
| IVA | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
| Discharged bankruptcy | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated |
| Undischarged insolvency | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated | Not publicly stated | Excluded (Business Terms) |
| Thin / no credit file | No credit check to open | No hard check; no thin-file position published | Soft search, assessed on wider data | Not publicly stated |
| Provider sites, 29 September 2026. A no-credit-check statement covers account opening only; it is not a statement that any specific adverse-credit condition is accepted. | ||||
Traditional banks are the other side of this. Some run a credit check when they assess a business-account application, and adverse credit may affect eligibility; policies differ by bank. A hard-search application that is declined also leaves a footprint on your file, which is why the order you apply in matters.
A Closer Look at Each Bad Credit Business Account
Each verdict below leads with the account-opening check and what the provider actually states, then the protection, the real cost, and the meaningful limitation. Where a provider is not right for a specific credit issue, we have said so. General app features live on each provider’s own review.
Zempler Bank Business Go Account
Tide Free Business Account
Revolut Business Basic Account
ANNA Business Account (Free plan)
Countingup Bank Account
Monzo Business Lite Account
Starling Bank Business Current Account
Mettle Business Bank Account
What Bad Credit Business Accounts Really Cost
We checked fees across every provider on this list, and there is no premium for bad credit: account fees match standard pricing. What you cannot access is the real constraint: overdrafts, traditional bank lending and the card products that need a credit assessment you may not pass.
| Provider | Free plan | Per-transfer | Paid tier | Apply |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zempler Business Go | Free | 3 free/mo, then 35p | Extra £9, Pro £19 | View Deal → |
| Tide | Free | 5 free/mo, then 20p | Smart £12.49 | View Deal → |
| Monzo Business Lite | Free | Free | Pro £9 (integrations, tax pots) | View Deal → |
| Starling | Free | Free (any volume) | None | View Deal → |
| Revolut Basic | No (£10/mo) | Free within allowance | Grow £35/mo, or £30/mo paid annually | View Deal → |
| Verified 29 September 2026. | ||||
ANNA, Zempler and Countingup each bundle invoicing and bookkeeping into their plans, worth paying for if accounting is otherwise off your radar. Countingup has no free plan: it starts at £5/month after the introductory period.
Zempler Business Creditbuilder, in Full
It is the one documented credit-building mechanism on this page, so the exact numbers are worth setting out. Business Creditbuilder is a 12-month commitment to paying the £9 Business Extra account fee on time, and Zempler reports each payment to credit reference agencies. Twelve payments of £9 is £108 over the year, at 0% interest.
Two things to be clear about. The £9 is the normal Business Extra account fee, not £108 of credit being advanced, so this is a reporting arrangement rather than a loan. And a missed payment can be reported too, so it builds a record only if you keep it clean. It does not guarantee that any future credit application is accepted.
The Overdraft Gap
Overdrafts require a credit assessment, so the facility that would help most is the hardest to get. Tide, Revolut and ANNA do not offer business overdrafts at all, Starling is not currently accepting applications, and Monzo offers them only to eligible customers based on credit history. Zempler does offer one, up to £10,000, but it runs a credit check, and a sole trader cannot apply until the account is three months old.
The practical problem is that these accounts give you nothing built in to bridge a sudden cash-flow gap. The alternatives, a business credit card (harder to get with bad credit), invoice factoring (days to approve) or a revenue-based loan from a specialist lender, all take time to arrange. None is instant, so if you might need short-term funding, put it in place before cash flow becomes urgent.
For applicants whose priority is a low-cost current account rather than borrowing, Zempler and Tide both offer free entry-level options, and a free Starling or Monzo account adds a full banking licence. We rate a paid tier worth it only when payment volume, multi-currency trading or the Creditbuilder path beats that, and even then clean books matter more than the plan you are on, because the lending is off the table either way.
FSCS Protection vs Safeguarding
This is where the accounts differ most, and where older comparisons are most often wrong. FSCS protects eligible deposits up to £120,000 per eligible depositor, per authorised firm. Safeguarding is not the same thing: an e-money firm keeps your money in a segregated account, and if it fails you claim against that pot, with no statutory deadline and no government guarantee.
On this page, Zempler, Monzo and Starling hold their own UK bank licences, so deposits are FSCS-protected directly. Mettle’s primary account is provided by NatWest and is FSCS-protected too, though that £120,000 limit is shared across NatWest Group brands. Tide is an e-money firm whose new accounts hold money with ClearBank, a licensed bank, so eligible balances are FSCS-protected, while some legacy Tide accounts remain safeguarded. Countingup is powered by Griffin, a licensed bank, so it is FSCS-protected.
ANNA’s main account is e-money, so the balance is safeguarded rather than FSCS-protected; its separate Savings account is FSCS-protected through a partner bank. Revolut became a UK bank in March 2026, so new business accounts are FSCS-protected while existing ones gain cover as they migrate.
Sole Trader vs Limited Company
The limit works differently depending on how you trade, and it is a distinction most pages miss. A limited company is a separate legal depositor, so its account is protected up to £120,000 in its own right, on top of the director’s personal £120,000 at the same bank.
A sole trader is not separate from the individual. Your business and personal balances at the same authorised firm are added together into one £120,000 limit. If you are a sole trader with savings at a bank that also runs your business account, that is the number to watch.
Can a Business Bank Account Rebuild Your Credit
Partly, and only in specific ways. Running a current account well does not, on its own, predictably rebuild your ability to borrow, and any page that promises a fixed number of months is overselling it. What helps is a documented reporting mechanism and a clean borrowing record over time.
The One Documented Mechanism
Zempler Business Creditbuilder is the concrete example here because the mechanism is published. It reports 12 on-time £9 Business Extra payments to credit reference agencies, at 0% interest, so it builds a record of regular, met commitments. A late payment can be reported too, and it does not guarantee that a later credit application succeeds. Used steadily, it is a real, evidenced way to start a business credit history.
Ordinary Account Use, and Borrowing
Consistent inflows, no returned payments and on-time Companies House filings can help your case when you next apply for credit, though how much weight each carries varies by lender, and there is no universal timeline where account use converts into borrowing access. Treat account approval and borrowing eligibility as separate decisions, because they are: Monzo credit-assesses an overdraft even for an existing customer, and Starling has paused new business borrowing entirely.
How to Apply Without Unnecessary Hard Searches
The goal is a working account without adding avoidable searches to your file. Read the provider’s stated search type before you apply, and keep account-opening applications separate from borrowing applications, because borrowing may involve a separate hard credit search depending on the provider and product.
Where protecting your credit file is the priority, apply to one provider at a time and start with a no-check or soft-check option, since several credit applications in the same short window can weigh on a later lending decision. Make sure your Companies House details, address and identity information are accurate before you apply, because a mismatch is a common and avoidable reason for a decline.
Which Providers Support the Current Account Switch Service
Monzo, Starling, Tide, Zempler and the traditional banks participate in the Current Account Switch Service (CASS): direct debits, standing orders and incoming payments migrate within seven working days. Revolut is on that list for personal accounts only, with no business entry, so switching to Revolut Business means recreating every mandate yourself.
Mettle, ANNA and Countingup do not participate in CASS, so you migrate payment mandates manually. If you are switching after a traditional bank closed your account and you have regular direct debits, factor that into your choice.
What to Do If Your Application Is Declined
Do not immediately fire off several replacement applications. Multiple applications in a short period can add unnecessary credit searches and may make later lending decisions more difficult, and a second decline for the same fixable reason helps nobody.
Work out why it failed first. A decline is not always about credit: it can be identity or address mismatch, an unsupported business type, residency, or a risk or fraud flag. If it was a credit-file error, such as a default registered against an address you never lived at, correct it with the credit reference agency before you reapply. If it was a genuine credit issue, move to a provider with a different, published assessment model rather than a near-identical one.
You can check your file free through MoneySavingExpert’s Credit Club, ClearScore or Experian before applying anywhere, so you know what a provider might see.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can a CCJ stop you opening a business bank account?
Some traditional banks run a credit check to assess a business-account application, and adverse credit such as a CCJ may affect eligibility; policies differ by bank. Providers that state they run no credit check to open, such as Zempler, are not assessing your credit file, and Tide states it runs no hard credit check. None of them, though, publishes a statement that a CCJ is accepted, and all still run identity, fraud and eligibility checks, so no account is guaranteed.
Which providers say they do not run a credit check to open?
Zempler states plainly there are no credit checks to open an account. Tide says there is no hard credit check. ANNA’s own pages conflict: one says no credit checks, another says a soft check may run. Monzo and Mettle confirm a soft search on opening. Revolut and Countingup do not publish a position, so we mark those “not publicly stated” rather than assume.
Does opening a business bank account affect your personal credit score?
If a provider runs a hard credit check, the search appears on your file and can lower your score for a time. A soft search (Monzo, Mettle) is visible only to you and does not affect your score. Where a provider states it runs no credit check to open (Zempler), there is no credit search at all, though identity checks still happen. This is why starting with a no-check or soft-check provider makes sense if you are protecting your score.
Is a no-credit-check account guaranteed approval?
No. No provider on this page guarantees approval. “No credit check” means the provider does not assess your credit file to decide the application; it does not remove identity, business, fraud, anti-money-laundering and eligibility checks, any of which can lead to a decline.
Can you get an overdraft with bad credit?
It is difficult. An overdraft is separately credit-assessed, so it is the hardest thing to get with bad credit. Tide, Revolut and ANNA do not offer one; Starling is not currently accepting applications; Monzo offers them only to eligible customers; and Zempler’s overdraft runs a credit check. Invoice finance or revenue-based funding may be alternatives where eligibility depends more on trading performance or receivables, though each lender applies its own underwriting criteria.
Are bad-credit business accounts FSCS protected?
Some are. Zempler, Monzo and Starling hold their own bank licences, so deposits are FSCS-protected to £120,000. Mettle’s NatWest-provided account, and Tide (via ClearBank) and Countingup (via Griffin), are FSCS-protected through a licensed bank. ANNA’s main account is e-money, so it is safeguarded rather than FSCS-protected. Check which entity holds your money, because the two are not the same protection.
Can you switch to a traditional bank once your credit improves?
Yes. Once a CCJ or default falls off your file (typically after six years) or you have built a strong trading history, you can apply for a traditional account alongside or instead of your digital one. You do not need to close the existing account to open a new one, and many businesses keep both.
How we reviewed bad credit business accounts
Ranking criteria. We ranked providers on the exact credit-check policy each one publishes, FSCS protection, and the real cost once overdrafts are off the table. Where a provider documents a credit-building mechanism, that counts in its favour for this specific audience.
The evidence rule. Every credit-check and eligibility claim carries a confidence label: Provider confirmed, Provider wording unclear, Provider sources conflict, or Not publicly stated. Where a provider does not publish its position on CCJs, defaults, IVAs or another form of adverse credit, we mark it “not publicly stated” rather than assuming the provider will or will not accept the application.
Data sources. All claims were checked against primary sources in September 2026: each provider’s own website and help centre, plus FCA and FSCS guidance. We do not cite comparison-site summaries or affiliate aggregator data, and we do not copy a competitor’s certainty where the provider itself is more careful.
Update cadence. We re-verify this page whenever a provider changes pricing, eligibility, protection or credit-check policy. The verification date reflects the most recent full review. Some links on this page are affiliate links, see our editorial policy.
Regulatory note. This page is editorial content, not regulated financial advice. Credit products are subject to status and approval. Compare offers directly with providers before you apply.
