YouLend provides the funding behind offers inside platforms including Shopify, Amazon, eBay, Just Eat and Dojo, while also taking direct applications. If working capital appears in your seller dashboard, YouLend may be the company providing it.
You receive money up front and repay an agreed total through a share of your sales. There is no interest or APR, but a fixed fee set when you sign. That makes the total repayment clear while making the cost harder to compare with an interest-bearing loan.
Finding out what it costs, and what you would be signing, takes more digging than it should. We checked YouLend’s product pages, its terms of use, its payment-account terms, its complaints policy, its FCA register entry and the eligibility tables its partners publish, on 18 August 2026. Less is fixed than other reviews of YouLend suggest. It publishes no price, the smallest sum it will advance depends on which route you apply through, and several figures repeated across the web trace back to a single YouLend page written for another market.
YouLend Working Capital at a Glance
Our Verdict
YouLend suits a business whose takings move about, such as a restaurant, a platform seller or a shop with a hard January, and which needs money faster than a bank will move it. Repayments rise and fall with sales, the price is a single fee rather than a rate that compounds, and the application runs off your Open Banking data rather than a business plan. For a business that has been turned down elsewhere, or that simply cannot wait three weeks, those are real advantages and the customer reviews back them up.
Speed and flexibility are what the fee pays for, and they do not come cheap. On YouLend’s own worked example – £15,000 advanced, £1,500 fee, £16,500 back – the fee is 10% of the advance, but because you repay it over months rather than a year, our calculations put the effective annualised cost between about 20% and about 79%, depending on how fast your sales clear it. Oddly, trading well makes it dearer in annual terms, because a busy run of sales pays off the same fee in fewer months.
The terms are where YouLend asks most of your trust. It publishes no price, no minimum advance and no universal eligibility rules, so the terms you are offered depend on which door you came through – the same funder starts at £500 on eBay and at £3,000 on its own application page. And the financing sits outside FCA regulation, which means the Ombudsman cannot look at a dispute about it. Read the Financing Contract for the fee, the charges and any guarantee before you accept, because that document, not the marketing, is what binds you.
YouLend Working Capital (Sales-Linked Finance)
Best For
The clearest fit is a business that sells through a platform or takes most of its money on card, and needs stock or wages covered this week rather than next month. Because the offer is built from your sales data rather than your accounts, a good trading record can carry an application that a bank would not look at.
It also suits seasonal trade. If your takings halve in January, so does the amount collected that month, which is the genuine advantage over a fixed instalment that arrives whatever the weather has done to your sales.
Not Ideal For
Skip it if a bank or iwoca will lend to you, because the same money will generally cost you a good deal less. Do not choose the loan for regulatory protection alone, though: FCA consumer-credit rules cover borrowing up to £25,000 by sole traders and small partnerships, and lending to a limited company falls outside those rules whoever provides it.
It is also the wrong product if most of your money arrives by invoice or bank transfer, since there are no card takings for the repayment to attach to, or if you need to know the exact figure leaving your account each month. And if the offer you are given asks for a personal guarantee, treat that as a separate decision about your own money rather than a formality in the paperwork.
Key Facts, and What Each One Rests On
| Product | YouLend’s three sales-linked finance formats: Working Capital, Flexible Finance Line and Fixed Payments. |
|---|---|
| Maximum funding | £2,000,000 (YouLend FAQs and merchant page, 5 Oct 2026) |
| Minimum funding | No universal minimum is published. eBay Seller Capital: £500; YouLend’s own application page: £3,000. |
| Pricing | One fixed fee agreed upfront instead of interest. No UK rate, range or APR is published. |
| Worked example | £15,000 funded, £1,500 fee, £16,500 repaid at 20% of daily sales (YouLend’s own illustration – an example, not a price list) |
| Annualised cost | About 20% to 79% depending on how fast sales clear it (BusinessExpert calculation on YouLend’s example; assumptions stated below) |
| Other charges | YouLend’s terms allow Financing Contracts to set administration fees and make you liable for collection costs. |
| Repayment | An agreed share of sales, collected as they settle. No percentage range is published. |
| Eligibility | Route-dependent. Three months trading on both published routes; £1,500 monthly sales direct, £500 through eBay. |
| Personal guarantee | Not published either way. YouLend’s terms mention guarantors only conditionally; no page states that a guarantee is required. |
| Speed | YouLend claims approval in as little as 24 hours, then funding in as little as 48 hours. |
| Regulation | YouLend Limited is an FCA-authorised payment institution (FRN 947287) for settlement accounts only. The financing is not FCA-regulated. |
| Complaints | The Ombudsman can consider a payment-services complaint but not one about the financing agreement (YouLend complaints policy, 5 Oct 2026) |
| Trustpilot | 4.8 out of 5 from 12,801 reviews; 94% five-star, 4% one-star (checked 5 Oct 2026) |
Product names and repayment terms come from YouLend’s product and merchant pages, checked again on 6 October 2026. Our check of every UK-facing YouLend page on 18 August 2026 found no published UK rate, range or APR, no universal minimum funding figure, no repayment-percentage range and no stated requirement for a personal guarantee. The route minimums and eligibility figures came from youlend.com and the eBay Seller Centre.
YouLend’s terms of use and payment-account terms, checked 5 October 2026, support the administration-fee, collection-cost and conditional-guarantor entries. The speed figures are provider claims from YouLend’s merchant page. The regulation entry comes from the FCA register and YouLend’s regulatory information, both checked on the same date.
What Is YouLend Working Capital?
How Sales-Linked Funding Works
YouLend Working Capital is sales-linked business finance: money arrives up front, and you repay an agreed total through payments taken as a share of your sales. YouLend charges one fixed fee rather than interest, so the amount you owe is settled the day you sign and does not grow if repayment takes longer than expected. Funding runs up to £2,000,000, and the size of any offer is built from your revenue rather than your assets.
The product labels overlap, but they do not mean quite the same thing. A merchant cash advance is repaid from card takings, while revenue-based finance can draw repayments from other settled revenue too. YouLend uses the broader label working capital because its range also includes a drawdown facility and a fixed-repayment option, neither of which is strictly a merchant cash advance.
The total repayment is fixed when you sign, but the repayment period is not. A share of each sale is collected until the balance is cleared, so busy weeks bring the end date forward and quiet weeks push it back. You gain payments that follow your trade, but lose the certainty of knowing when the agreement will finish.
YouLend offers a lump-sum advance, a facility you can draw from again and an option with fixed repayments. The format available to you depends on the platform you apply through and YouLend’s assessment of your sales. Not every platform offers all three.
| Format | How YouLend describes it | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Working Capital | Funding “tailored to their cash flow, seasonality, and sales patterns” | The lump sum most people mean by a cash advance: one amount, one fee, repaid from sales |
| Flexible Finance Line | “A pre-approved line of capital that merchants can draw from multiple times, paying only for what they use” | Closer to a revolving facility. Each drawdown carries a fee, so cost depends on how often you use it. |
| Fixed Payments | “A clear funding amount with set repayments” | Repayments that do not move with your sales – which removes the main advantage of the product, and the main uncertainty |
Your financing contract may name an institutional funder rather than YouLend as the source of the money. YouLend describes its platform as “intermediating financing agreements” and operates the settlement account that collects repayments. Its FCA authorisation covers that payment account, while the contract with the named funder governs what you owe.
Sales-Linked Funding vs a Traditional Business Loan
Paying early saves you money on a loan and nothing on YouLend. A term loan charges interest on a falling balance, so clearing it early genuinely saves you money. YouLend sets the fee in pounds at signing, so the total is the total: pay it off in four months instead of ten and you hand over exactly the same amount.
What you get in exchange is repayments that follow your trade. A wet fortnight or a dead January costs you less that month, where a loan instalment lands regardless. If your takings swing with the season, that can be worth paying for. If your income arrives steadily every month, it mostly is not.
You also swap one kind of certainty for another. A loan tells you the end date; sales-linked funding tells you the total but not when you will have paid it. If you are modelling cash flow twelve months out, that missing end date is the harder of the two to plan around.
YouLend Costs and Fixed Fees
How the Fixed Fee Works
YouLend does not publish a price. We checked every UK-facing YouLend page on 18 August 2026 – the merchant pages, the product pages, the FAQs and the terms – and found no rate, no range and no APR anywhere on the site. What you get instead is a fee quoted with your offer, after the underwriting has read your sales. Reviews that tell you “factor rates start at 1.10” have worked that number backwards out of YouLend’s illustration, and it is not a price list.
The illustration YouLend does publish runs like this: a business averaging £10,000 of monthly sales, trading for a year, could be offered £15,000 with a fixed fee of £1,500, repaid at 20% of daily sales. So £16,500 goes back in total, which works out at £1.10 returned for every pound advanced. Read it as one worked example of a business with a particular trading record, because that is exactly what YouLend presents it as.
Your own fee will be set by the strength and steadiness of your takings, your trading history and the platform data behind the application. So you cannot compare YouLend with another lender on price until you have applied to both and have two offers in front of you, which is the opposite of how you would shop for a loan.
Are There Any Other Fees?
Do not assume the fixed fee is the whole price, because YouLend’s own terms say it need not be. The terms of use state plainly that “YouLend administration fees and charges will be set out in the Financing Contracts”, and the payment-account terms, having confirmed that the settlement account itself is free, add that “we may charge for other services delivered to You and the Funders under the Financing Contract”. Neither passage says charges will apply to you. Both say the contract, not the marketing, decides.
The terms are blunter still about what happens if you fall behind. The same payment-account terms make you “liable for any of our costs associated with collection in addition to any amounts owed, including legal fees and expenses, collection agency fees and any applicable interest”. So the marketing promise of no interest describes an agreement that is being repaid to plan. If it stops being repaid, interest and collection costs can both appearon top of the fee you agreed.
One more charge sits behind the scenes. If a broker or platform introduced you, YouLend’s FAQs confirm it may pay them a commission, “typically… a percentage of the fixed fee under your financing”. That does not add to your bill directly, but it does mean part of what you pay funds the introduction, and that whoever pointed you towards YouLend is paid more when your fee is larger.
When an offer arrives, hold each marketing promise up against the Financing Contract, because the contract is where the charges, the repayment terms and any guarantee are actually set:
| What the marketing says | What the Financing Contract decides |
|---|---|
| “No interest – pay only a single fixed fee” | The actual fee in pounds, and whether interest can accrue if you fall behind |
| Repayments that flex with your sales | The exact percentage taken, and whether any minimum payment or expected term applies |
| Fast, simple, no paperwork | Any administration fees or charges YouLend has chosen to specify |
| Unsecured, no assets pledged | Whether a personal guarantee is required, and from which directors |
| No early-repayment penalty on some routes | Whether clearing early reduces the fee, which is a different question and usually answered no |
What It Works Out At Over a Year
A 10% fee is not a 10% annual cost, and the difference is where most of the confusion about this product lives. On YouLend’s own example you pay £1,500 to use £15,000, but you do not hold that £15,000 for a year – you start paying it back with the first day’s sales. To compare the cost against a loan APR, you have to account for that. Here is the same £15,000 advance at different repayment speeds:
| Cleared in | Repaid each month | Total repaid | Effective annualised cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3 months | £5,500 | £16,500 | about 79% |
| 6 months | £2,750 | £16,500 | about 39% |
| 9 months | £1,833 | £16,500 | about 26% |
| 12 months | £1,375 | £16,500 | about 20% |
You do not choose the repayment speed; your sales do. So it is worth running the same advance through the till. At the 20% share YouLend uses in its example, the amount collected and the time it takes both move with your monthly takings:
| Your monthly sales | Taken each month (20%) | Months to clear £16,500 | Effective annualised cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| £6,000 | £1,200 | about 14 | about 17% |
| £10,000 | £2,000 | about 8 | about 29% |
| £15,000 | £3,000 | about 5.5 | about 43% |
Read down that last column and the counterintuitive part of the product comes into focus: the better you trade, the more the money costs you in annual terms. You hand over the same £1,500 either way, but a business turning over £15,000 a month has paid it in five and a half months rather than fourteen. That is simply how a fee fixed in pounds behaves when the repayment period is not fixed with it.
High as the 43% row looks, I would read it as the price of money that arrives this week and eases off when your takings do. It does mean that if a bank or iwoca will lend to you at 15% or 20% a year, the comparison is not close, and that the honest way to judge an offer is the total in pounds beside the total in pounds – never a fee percentage beside an APR.
YouLend Eligibility Requirements
Why the Rules Change With the Route
There is no single YouLend eligibility list, and treating one as universal is the commonest error in the reviews of this provider. YouLend reaches most of its customers through partners – eBay, Shopify, Dojo, Just Eat and others – and each partner publishes its own thresholds. The same funder will take a business on one route that it turns away on another.
| Route | Funding from | Minimum sales | Trading history | Early repayment | Source checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| eBay Seller Capital | £500 | £500 a month in qualifying sales | 3 months selling on eBay | eBay states no early payback fee | eBay Seller Centre, 5 Oct 2026 |
| YouLend’s own application page | £3,000 | £1,500 a month online or through a card terminal | More than 3 months trading actively | Not stated | youlend.com, 5 Oct 2026 |
| YouLend UK merchant page | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not stated | youlend.com, 6 Oct 2026 |
| Other embedded partners | Set by the partner. Check the terms shown in that platform’s dashboard | – | |||
If you sell on a platform that offers YouLend funding, check that offer before you apply through youlend.com directly, because the platform route may open at a fraction of the amount and a fraction of the sales requirement. A business turning over £800 a month on eBay qualifies there and would not qualify on YouLend’s own form.
Trading History, Turnover and Open Banking
Three months of trading is the shortest history either published route asks for, and it is genuinely low: 365 Finance asks for six months and £10,000 a month in takings, so a young business that 365 will not look at can often get an offer here. What the two YouLend routes disagree about is the sales requirement, which is £500 a month through eBay and £1,500 on YouLend’s own form.
Clearing the threshold and getting a useful sum are different things. The offer is built from your revenue, so three months of thin trading will produce a small first offer even where it is accepted, and the £2,000,000 ceiling belongs to businesses with the turnover to support it. YouLend’s Irish site puts the general shape at up to twice monthly revenue, which is a more useful yardstick than the headline maximum.
Nearly all of the assessment runs on Open Banking. YouLend confirms it uses the feed “to access payment data and generate tailored funding offers quickly and securely”, which is why the application asks for a bank connection rather than filed accounts, and why it can be answered the same day. If your money arrives by invoice or bank transfer rather than through a till or a platform, though, this is the wrong product: there is no settled sales stream for the repayment to come out of.
Does YouLend Require a Personal Guarantee?
Check your own offer, because YouLend does not publish an answer to this and we could not establish one. Its payment-account terms make no mention of guarantees at all. Its terms of use refer to guarantors only in passing, authorising credit searches on directors, officers and “any guarantors” – wording that covers a guarantor where one exists rather than requiring one.
This page previously told you that every director signs a joint and several guarantee. We can no longer support that. The claim circulates widely, but it traces to commercial finance introducers rather than to YouLend, and no YouLend document we read states it. A joint and several guarantee is a serious undertaking – it lets the funder pursue any one director for the whole outstanding balance – and it is not something to assert on secondary sourcing.
So treat the guarantee as an open question to settle in writing before you accept. Ask whether one is required, from which directors, and whether it is joint and several or several only; the answer will be in the Financing Contract. If a guarantee is required and you are a limited company director, the practical effect is that the limited liability you normally rely on does not apply to this debt, which is worth more than a moment’s thought.
Applying and Getting Funded
How to Apply
Most people meet YouLend without going looking for it. An offer appears in a seller dashboard on Shopify, Amazon, eBay or Dojo, tied to the sales data that platform already holds, and the application runs from there. Where the offer appears matters for more than convenience, because the platform you apply through sets the minimum you can borrow and the sales you need, as the eligibility table above shows.
You can also apply directly at youlend.com, which is the only route open to a business that does not sell through a YouLend partner. Limited companies, sole traders and partnerships can all apply, provided the business is UK-based and takes a real share of its money through a card terminal or an online platform. Neither route asks for a business plan, and neither asks you to pledge an asset.
What You Have to Provide
Sales data does nearly all the work, which is why YouLend advertises “no physical documents required” and means it. You connect your bank through Open Banking, the platform supplies your trading record, and the assessment is built from those rather than from filed accounts.
The credit checking is broader than the light-touch application suggests. YouLend’s terms of use authorise credit reference searches on the business, the applicant, their financial associates, and every director or officer authorised to act for the company. A steady sales record still counts for more than a spotless file, but the searches are not confined to the company.
How Fast Is It, Really?
YouLend says funding can be approved “in as little as 24 hours”, with “access to funds in as little as 48 hours after approval”. Those are the provider’s own numbers and describe the best case rather than the typical one, so read them as approval and funding being separate steps: 24 hours to a decision, then up to another 48 to the money.
Customer reviews broadly back the claim up. Speed of funding is what reviewers praise most often, and several describe money arriving within a working week of a first phone call. When a supplier wants paying on Friday and your bank has quoted three weeks for a decision, that gap is most of what you are paying the fee for.
How YouLend Repayments Work
Percentage-of-Sales Payments
You agree one percentage of your sales at the outset, and it does not change for the life of the agreement. We found no published range for the UK, and the ranges quoted elsewhere are not YouLend’s figures; the only percentage it puts in writing is the 20% used in its own worked example. Yours will be set by the size of the funding against the size of your takings, so ask what it is and check it against a bad month before you accept.
Collection is automatic. As your card processor or platform settles, the agreed share is taken through the YouLend settlement account before the rest reaches you, so there is nothing to remember and nothing to pay by hand. It also means the money leaves before you see it, which is worth building into your own figures if you forecast on gross takings.
There is no fixed end date, and top-ups are part of the model rather than an exception to it: YouLend advertises same-day top-ups and says that “once approved, 85% of small businesses return for a second round of financing”. That is the provider’s own figure and it is a marketing statistic, not an independent one. Read it both ways. It is evidence that customers come back, and it is a reminder that each new advance carries its own fee, so rolling one into the next stacks those fees up instead of spreading them.
What Happens When Sales Fall
In principle a quiet month costs you less, because the payment is a share of a smaller number, and a day with no sales takes nothing at all. That is the whole argument for sales-linked finance over a fixed instalment, and for a seasonal business it is a real protection when trade dips.
In practice, the reviews complicate that picture and this is the part I would want a business owner to read twice. Several customers writing in July and August 2026 describe collections calls precisely when their sales had stopped – during a holiday, during illness, after a bereavement – and at least one describes being threatened with debt collectors while an agreement still had months to run. Whether that reflects a minimum payment, an expected term, or simply firm collections practice, we cannot tell from the public documents, because YouLend does not publish the financing contract. It is the single most important thing to establish in writing before you sign: ask what happens if your sales fall to nothing for a month.
Early repayment deserves the same care, because three separate questions get muddled into one. Can you repay early? Generally yes, and eBay states there is no early payback fee on its route. Is there a penalty? Not one that YouLend publishes. Does clearing early reduce what you pay? No – the fee is fixed in pounds at signing, so paying in four months rather than ten costs exactly the same and simply raises the annual rate you have effectively paid.
YouLend Customer Reviews
What Customers Like
YouLend holds 4.8 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 12,801 reviews, checked on 5 October 2026, with 94% at five stars and 4% at one. The review base is unusually large: iwoca sits at 4.7 from around 13,000 and Liberis at 4.7 from around 1,700, so the comparison is a fair one. Two qualifications belong with it: YouLend invites its customers to review, which Trustpilot notes on the profile, and reviews are written by people who have just been given money, not by people halfway through repaying.
The positive reviews repeatedly praise quick funding, a short application and account executives who called back. Customers often name the member of staff who helped them, which makes the service relationship more prominent in the reviews than the financing itself.
What the Critical Reviews Say
We read the one- and two-star reviews rather than the average, and they are about collections almost to the exclusion of anything else. Customers describe being chased when trading stopped, threats to pass a balance to debt collectors while an agreement still had months left, and a tone from the collections team that several reviewers found aggressive. The pattern matters more than any single account, because it sits directly against the promise the product is sold on.
Two smaller themes recur underneath that. Repeat-funding sales calls are a common irritation, including after a customer has asked for time, which fits a business model where 85% of borrowers take a second advance. And a handful of applicants report an offer changing between approval and signature. YouLend replies to 45% of its negative reviews, but the collections theme is consistent enough that I would want the arrears terms in front of me before signing.
YouLend Support and Regulation
Customer Support
Support starts in the platform dashboard or YouLend portal rather than with a dedicated manager. Recent reviews frequently praise named account executives, but complaints about continuity appear when customers return for more funding and want somebody who already knows their case.
If a named contact matters more to you than speed, 365 Finance builds its offer around a dedicated account manager and is the fairer comparison on that point. If you would rather answer four questions in a dashboard and have the money on Thursday, YouLend is built for you.
Regulatory Status and Complaints
“YouLend is FCA regulated” is true and misleading in the same sentence, so it is worth being exact. YouLend Limited is an authorised payment institution under firm reference number 947287, and has been since 29 June 2023. What that authorisation covers, in YouLend’s own words, is opening and operating settlement accounts for merchants and executing payments out of them “for the purpose of repaying the merchant financing”. It regulates the account your repayments travel through. It does not regulate the financing itself.
We checked that against YouLend’s own regulatory page, which states the position plainly: “YouLend’s merchant financing agreements in the UK are not regulated by the FCA for the purpose of providing business financing.” The FSCS does not come into it: that scheme protects deposits, investments and insurance, so you would have no FSCS cover as a borrower from a bank either.
What you do lose is the Ombudsman, and this is the part with teeth. YouLend’s complaints policy says you “will only be able to refer complaints to the Financial Ombudsman Service about payment services”, and then removes any ambiguity: “merchant financing is not regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and so the Financial Ombudsman Service will be unable to consider any complaints related to your merchant financing agreement.” Put beside the collections complaints above, it is the risk I would weigh most heavily before signing. If you dispute how you were pursued for repayment, there is no free adjudicator to turn to: you have YouLend’s own complaints process, and after that the courts.
| Question | Answer |
|---|---|
| Is YouLend FCA authorised? | Yes. YouLend Limited, FRN 947287, an authorised payment institution since 29 June 2023 |
| What does that authorisation cover? | The settlement account your repayments pass through, and payments made out of it |
| Is the financing regulated? | No. YouLend states its UK merchant financing agreements are not FCA-regulated |
| Can you complain to the Ombudsman? | About the payment account, yes, within six months of a final response. About the financing, no |
| Does the FSCS cover you? | No, and it would not on a bank loan either. The FSCS protects deposits, investments and insurance, never borrowers |
| Who are you contracting with? | YouLend intermediates; its terms describe financing agreements with corporate or institutional funders. The contract gives the funder’s name. |
YouLend vs the Alternatives
YouLend vs Liberis
These two are closer than the reviews usually make them look, and eBay’s own provider table is the clearest place to see it: both offer £500 to £2m there, both want £500 a month in sales, and neither charges for early repayment. The one difference on that table is trading history, three months for YouLend against four for Liberis, so a seller who has just passed three months on eBay can take YouLend’s offer while Liberis is still a month away.
Away from eBay the split is about reach. YouLend is embedded in more places, which matters because a platform route can open at a lower minimum than applying direct, as the eBay figures show. Liberis prices per product rather than with one fixed fee, so it is worth getting both offers if both appear in your dashboard: neither publishes a rate, and the only way to compare them is to hold two quotes side by side.
YouLend vs 365 Finance
365 Finance sells itself on service rather than reach: a dedicated account manager rather than a dashboard, and a published repayment share of typically 5% to 15% of card sales. The 16% ceiling often quoted for 365 comes from a commercial finance introducer and does not appear on any 365 Finance page, so treat it as somebody else’s number rather than a term you can rely on.
Neither publishes a price, so nobody can honestly tell you which is cheaper before you have both offers. What is certain is the eligibility gap: 365 Finance asks for six months of trading and £10,000 a month in card and digital takings, against YouLend’s three months and, on the eBay route, £500. For a smaller or younger business, that is the whole decision. Where both will lend, 365 is the better choice if you want one person who knows your file.
When a Business Loan Is the Better Answer
Capify lends larger sums and looks at weaker credit, but it charges a processing fee, an origination fee and a monthly charge on top of the cost of the money, so the total is assembled from several parts. YouLend quotes one figure. Whether one figure is cheaper than four depends entirely on the numbers you are quoted, but it is certainly easier to check.
For most businesses the choice is really between YouLend and an ordinary business loan. Take one if you can qualify for a lower annual rate, if predictable repayments help you plan, if you expect to clear the debt quickly, since a fixed fee gives you nothing back for doing so, or if a share coming off every sale would complicate thin margins. Sales-linked funding wins when the money is needed this week, when your takings are genuinely uneven, or when the regulated doors are shut. On price alone, it rarely wins: iwoca’s Flexi-Loan advertises 49% representative APR, which sits inside the range our own model produces for YouLend.
Liberis Business Cash Advance
365 Finance Merchant Cash Advance
Capify Business Loan
Verdict: Is YouLend Working Capital Worth It?
YouLend earns its place when your takings swing too much for a fixed instalment to be safe: a quiet January takes less, a busy August clears the balance sooner, and the fee you owe is set in pounds the day you sign. That fee is not always the whole cost, though, because YouLend’s terms let the Financing Contract add administration charges, so put the contract’s full total beside a loan, not the headline fee alone.
It is not cheap money, though. On YouLend’s own example the effective cost runs from about 20% a year to about 79%, depending on how fast your sales clear it, so a business that can borrow from a bank or from iwoca should compare the totals in pounds before going further. The three-month trading requirement is the genuine advantage, and through eBay the £500 entry point puts sales-linked funding within reach of a seller turning over far too little for 365 Finance, which asks for £10,000 a month in takings.
The financing sits outside FCA regulation, so the Ombudsman cannot consider a dispute about the agreement. That matters because collections conduct is the consistent complaint among customers who ran into difficulty. YouLend also publishes no general price or full set of terms, which leaves the offer itself as your only account of what you will pay and how repayment will be handled.
Read that offer properly, then, and make it answer four things before you accept: the fee in pounds and what it works out at annually over your realistic repayment period; any administration charges specified in the contract; whether a personal guarantee is required and from whom; and what happens if your sales stop for a month. Get those four in writing and this is a reasonable product to use. Skip them and you are agreeing to terms nobody has shown you.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is a YouLend cash advance a loan?
No. It is sales-linked business finance, sold as working capital and built on the same mechanics as a merchant cash advance or revenue-based finance: you receive money up front and repay an agreed total from a share of your sales. Because it is not a credit agreement, it is priced as one fixed fee rather than an APR, and it sits outside FCA regulation. Checked 5 October 2026.
How much does a YouLend advance cost?
One fixed fee, agreed with your offer. YouLend publishes no rate or range for the UK, so the only figure it puts in writing is its own example: £15,000 funded, a £1,500 fee, £16,500 repaid. On our calculations that works out at roughly 39% a year if sales clear it in six months and roughly 20% over twelve. Its terms also allow administration charges to be set in your individual contract, so read the total repayment and the charges together.
Does YouLend need a personal guarantee?
Check your own offer, because YouLend does not publish a position either way. Its payment-account terms do not mention guarantees, and its terms of use refer to “any guarantors” only when authorising credit searches – wording that allows for a guarantor rather than requiring one. The widely repeated claim that every director signs a joint and several guarantee traces to commercial finance introducers, not to YouLend, and we could not verify it. Ask whether a guarantee is required, and from whom, before you accept.
What are the eligibility requirements?
The rules change with the route you apply through, and the gap between routes is large. YouLend’s own application page asks for more than three months of active trading and more than £1,500 a month in sales. Through eBay Seller Capital the same funder starts at £500 of funding and £500 of monthly sales, after three months selling. There is no business plan and no asset to pledge on either route; the assessment runs on Open Banking and sales data.
How quickly can I get funded by YouLend?
YouLend says approval can come “in as little as 24 hours” and funds “in as little as 48 hours after approval”. Those are its own figures and describe the best case, so plan on a decision within a day and money within two to three. Speed is the most praised thing about YouLend in its customer reviews, and it is the main thing the fee buys you.
Is YouLend regulated by the FCA?
Partly, and the distinction matters. YouLend Limited is an FCA-authorised payment institution (FRN 947287), which covers the settlement account your repayments pass through. The financing is not regulated: YouLend’s complaints policy states that the Ombudsman “will be unable to consider any complaints related to your merchant financing agreement”. The FSCS does not apply either, and it would not cover you as a borrower from a bank or any other lender.
Can I repay YouLend early, and does it cost less?
These are two different questions and the answers differ. You can generally repay early, and eBay states there is no early payback fee on its route. But the fee is fixed in pounds when you sign, so clearing early does not reduce what you pay – it just compresses the same cost into a shorter period, which raises the effective annual rate. Confirm both points in your Financing Contract, since neither is published site-wide.
Is YouLend cheaper than a business loan?
Not usually. A fee that looks like 10% of the advance is not a 10% annual cost, because you start repaying immediately: on YouLend’s own example our calculations put the effective cost between about 20% and about 79% a year depending on how fast sales clear it. If a bank or iwoca will lend to you, compare the total pounds repaid rather than a fee percentage against an APR. YouLend earns its place on speed, on a three-month trading requirement, and on repayments that fall when your sales do.
How We Reviewed YouLend Working Capital
What we assessed. We reviewed YouLend Working Capital on pricing, charges, eligibility, the application, repayment mechanics, customer sentiment and regulation. We sorted every material claim by what supports it – verified fact, provider claim, route-specific term, our own calculation, or unresolved – so that you can see which figures are firm and which you need to check in your own offer.
Other reviews of YouLend repeat the same errors: they treat its worked example as a starting rate, apply one route’s minimums to every applicant and state that every UK agreement carries a joint and several personal guarantee. We traced each claim through YouLend’s documents and partner material, and we could not support any of them as a universal term.
Data sources. On 18 August 2026 we checked YouLend’s merchant and product pages, its FAQs, terms of use, payment-account terms, regulatory information and complaints policy; the FCA register entry for FRN 947287; Companies House; eBay’s published Seller Capital provider table; and Trustpilot, where YouLend held 4.8 from 12,801 reviews when we checked again on 5 October 2026. Our annualised cost figures are our own calculation on YouLend’s worked example, with the assumptions stated beside each table.
Our verdict reflects a genuine trade-off. We gave credit for quick access, the three-month trading requirement and the range of partner platforms, but marked YouLend down for unpublished pricing, route-dependent terms, financing outside FCA regulation and the repeated collections complaints in critical reviews.
Update cadence. We re-check pricing wording, eligibility by route, regulatory status and customer-review data regularly, and date every figure that moves. No affiliate relationship affects this assessment. See our editorial policy.
Related guides
If you are still deciding whether sales-linked funding suits your business, these guides go further on the cost, the guarantee and the alternatives.
Understand the product
- Merchant Cash Advance for UK Businesses – how sales-linked advances work, and who they suit
- Working Capital Finance – the full range, from overdraft alternatives to trade finance
- Personal Guarantees for Business Loans – what you are signing, and what it exposes
Work out what it costs
- Factor Rate Explained – what a fixed fee really costs over a year
- Factor Rate vs APR – how to compare the two without flattering either
- Merchant Cash Advance vs Business Loan – which is cheaper, and when
Compare the alternatives
- Liberis Merchant Cash Advance Review – the closest match to YouLend on eBay
- 365 Finance Merchant Cash Advance Review – a named account manager, a higher entry bar
- Capify Merchant Cash Advance Review – larger sums, weaker credit, more fees
- iwoca Business Loan Review – the regulated, usually cheaper comparison
- Business Lines of Credit – draw as you need it, pay for what you use
- Revolving Credit Facilities – a committed facility rather than a one-off advance